Server Maintenance This Week. ×

This topic is 6539 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

This is my first post; I am a novice filemaker user (although have been reading alot, online tutorials, etc). I am trying to see if I can save $200 (the cost of a dedicated digital asset management program) by creating my own, much simpler solution.

Can someone guide me as I create this? I am familiar with all the basic concepts, eg fields, tables, portals, repeating fields, etc. I don't know anything about calculations or functions (and don't want to get into those yet), or Scripts.

My main goal to start with (and I will probably make it much more involved at a later date) is to simply be able to show all images (thumbnail size) on the screen at one time (might have to flip to other pages as my collection grows), as I do a find on some keyword. I would like to show at least 9 at a time on one page.

Each thumbnail would have under or over it some text, like a stock #.

I have looked at the template photo catalog, but it is way too complicated to even modify or understand, at my novice level.

So, how do I get started?

Thank you much,

Tip: create this database either to learn, to have fun, or as a buisness investment.

Don't create it to save money because you won't! :P

• Newbies

Thank you for replying to my post; I was not clear about the template I mentioned; the one you suggested using is the same one I said in my post was way too complicated.

I am hoping someone with more experience than I can give me some suggestions as to how to actually set a simple one up, so that multiple thumbnails can be seen on one page.

If this is not appropriate to ask on this forum, just let me know.

Thanks in advance.

Look at the [color:blue]List View in the file. Although the [color:blue]List View will show you a Found Set of Records, when you look at it, it shows multiple photos, which acts like Thumbnails.