Server Maintenance This Week. ×

newbie questions about relationships and parent/child tables

This topic is 6184 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am new to File Maker (using version 8) and it's been awhile since I've designed a database, so I'm hoping some of you can help me out. I've only ever used Access and some things are tripping me up. Maybe I've created them incorrectly or not in the smartest way, so help would be greatly appreciated.

I have the following tables: Customers, Members, Plays, Contact, Invoices, and Payments. Customers and Members are the only tables that do not have to relate to one another. Within this organization, Members are playwrights who sell the rights to their plays through us. Customers are individuals or organizations who purchase the rights to a play. Therefore, Plays are really what link the two together.

The relationship between Members and Plays would be one-to-many. One member can have more than one play with us. The same would be for Customers to Plays: one customer may purchase more than one play. Plays do not exist without a Member attached to them, as we do not carry Plays for non-members. Contact, Invoices and Payments should be related to all tables. Members are invoiced for their membership fees and customers are invoiced for royalties.

This is how I have designed each table. Each has its own ID as the primary key. I have the IDs set up as Text, Auto-enter Serial Number, Can't Modify Serial, and Unique Value. I have named all primary keys and foreign keys like this (for example): kp_Contact ID, kf_Member ID, kf_Customer ID, kf_PlayID etc...

My IDs are like this MEM000001, PLAY000001 and so on.