Summary by date

This topic is 6106 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Help pretty please....

I am very new at Filemaker but very determined. I could really use some help with this stumbling block I am stuck on.

I have three tables: AREA, BOOTH, INVOICES

INVOICES are created by a booth by booth basis.

each BOOTH is found in an AREA.

I have two hurtles I have not been able to accomplish.

1.) insert daily totals by AREA in the header of my form

2.) view a list of all booths and there daily totals

Helping me solve this would allow me to leave my computer for awhile.

Any help or direction is most appreciated.

I was trying to figure out a calculation of sorts...

something that would say..

If AREA::area="100" then Get Sum for INVOICES::subtotal if date = today

If AREA::area="200" then Get Sum for INVOICES::subtotal if date = today

How do I do a calculation like that. I believe that would product a summary of total invoices per area. I could follow the same formula/calculation for Booths.

What a fantastic response! Thank You very much bcooney. I have been struggling with this for awhile. I am now going to give this a whirl on my existing database.

Wild how fast you created that. Thank You.

I'll respond with my progress....

I'm including my db so far and I hope you don't laugh too hard at a newbies first filemaker database. You can probably tell what I am trying to do but not quite there.

all comments are welcome. I do want to learn.

RenFestival.fp7.zip

Edited by Guest

Do you have any recommendations for books or training on learning Filemaker? I am really enjoying building the database and would love to follow "a path" to understanding it better.

Of course my friends tell me you can't teach an old dog new tricks but I am determined to learn Filemaker. I can see the many uses once I understand it better.

Any recommendations would be most apprecaiated in helping me learn Filemaker. Like a reference book or something.