Access 97 to FileMaker 10 Pro

This topic is 5466 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello everyone. Let me assure you that I have been searching this site for four straight days now and have NOT found what I am asking for. ???

I work for a public utility. We have a nuclear plant, and several fossil plants. I work on the fossil side of things, supporting process systems (control room computers, PLCs, historians, etc...)

New government regulations require us to monitor physical and cyber security at a level that has never been done before. We have an old Access 97 database, created years ago by my current supervisor, that tracks assets, personnel, software, etc...

I have no FileMaker experience but have read all white papers, The Missing Manual, FileMaker help forums, etc... I keep hearing the same thing on each--inventory databases are complex and tricky.

I need to develop a database that tracks assets (based on an inventory tag each piece of equipment is assigned), software and hardware installed on the asset, patches, ports, services, and backups. I have all of my tables and relationships set up and I think I have done a fairly solid job there.

Turning that data into something we can add records to, edit, archive, run reports with...I'm at a complete loss. I'd like to know if anyone has any advice about examples, consultants who have done this type of database before, articles that I may not have yet found, that sort of thing. My supervisor has tentatively approved me bringing in a FileMaker consultant but I want to make sure I've exhausted all other possibilities first to try and save some budget money.

Thanks,

Tracie