Server Maintenance This Week. ×

How to provide an index across multiple tables

This topic is 5467 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Not sure this is the right place for this query. I'm a beginner with Filemaker but have some experience with databases.

I need an index/report which will cross multiple tables, let me explain.

Lets say I want the following tables.

a: Births

b: Deaths

c: Marriages

Each table would have a first and last name. I will need to be able to show a form or report which is an "index" of all "events" by name i.e.

Births table has the following:

Fred Jones 2 Feb 1945

John Jones 7 Jul 1973

Deaths table contains:

Fred Jones 15 Jan 1963

Anne Jones 12 Mar 1801

Marriages table contains:

Jane Jones 21 Aug 1847

Sally Jones 14 Sep 1891

Ken Jones 18 Apr 1921

I need an index report which shows ALL entries, how would I structure this?

Anne Jones 12 Mar 1801

Jane Jones 21 Aug 1847

Sally Jones 14 Sep 1891

Ken Jones 18 Apr 1921

Fred Jones 2 Feb 1945

Fred Jones 15 Jan 1963

John Jones 7 Jul 1973

Any help greatly appreciated.

It looks like you should have two tables: People and Events. The People table would have fields for:

• PersonID

• FirstName

• LastName

and the Events table would have:

• EventID

• PersonID

• EventType

• EventDate

The relationship between these two tables would be matching on PersonID. Then you can produce the above report from the Events table (with the names coming from related fields in People).

I think that you should have one table for your people and then another table that captures the event type, date, and the personID. You may eventually want even a third table depending on your needs.

*Edit: Sorry Michael didnt see your post ???

Edited by Guest

Thanks for the quick suggestions guys, there is actually going to be more event types than this and much more detail but I think simplifying things in this way has made the solution more obvious.

Thanks again.