Server Maintenance This Week. ×

First impression from a new user

This topic is 4321 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi guys!

I just joined about five minutes ago and (I already want to move the furniture around :P) wanted to post my first impressions of the site. I downloaded the trial of Filemaker Pro 11 last night to see if it could meet my needs for a certain project. My experience with database software is very limited and so I set out to find a good forum where I could ask questions. I found this site quickly and saw it is very active and seems to be the best FM site out there. Anyways, to start, I have a simple question about summing values from certain records if those records meet certain conditions. So I looked up and down the list of forums and tried to find the appropriate place for my question. I am a complete beginner to FMP and have no idea whether my task can be accomplished by scripts, finding and searching, relationships, custom functions, or what. While it's a minor problem and I'm not going to worry about posting it in the wrong place, my first impression is that you could use a place for complete beginners to post in. Also, 60+ forum categories seems excessive (it makes a beginner category, which might even exist, hard to find), especially when user groups and community stuff is at the top, before the more used and more informational database questions categories. Again, this looks like a great forum and I hope to figure out FMP with your help so I don't mean to bash the way your forum operates, this is just the first impression I got from the site after I joined.

Thanks

GR2345

• 3 weeks later...

I tend to agree that we don't need so many categories, in fact I rarely look at individual forums, I just browse the active or unanswered topics.

However, I can see some value in the categories when I'm looking for specific information.