Random number password problem

This topic is 8631 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I would appreciate anyone's help with this problem. I am a school teacher creating a Filemaker 4.0 database where students can vote in the upcoming Presidential Election. I am somewhat familiar with FMPro 4.0 but cannot come up with a calculation for the following problem.

Students register to vote and are assigned a password using the random number calculation. They will then return to the database during election and enter the random number generated earlier as their password. In order to keep students from voting more than once, I would like to perform some type of lookup or calculation that will match their password once, but then lock them out if they try to use the password a second time.

I am going to have over 1000 students voting at various locations (I'll be custom publishing the database into html) so password control is important for a valid voting experience.

Suggestions, questions, comments would be most appreciated.

T. Miller

quote:

Originally posted by tomtom:

I would appreciate anyone's help with this problem. I am a school teacher creating a Filemaker 4.0 database where students can vote in the upcoming Presidential Election. I am somewhat familiar with FMPro 4.0 but cannot come up with a calculation for the following problem.

Students register to vote and are assigned a password using the random number calculation. They will then return to the database during election and enter the random number generated earlier as their password. In order to keep students from voting more than once, I would like to perform some type of lookup or calculation that will match their password once, but then lock them out if they try to use the password a second time.