Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Combine Tables in Sub-Summary

cwest91

This topic is 4804 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi there,

I am a teacher who is new to Filemaker and working on a gradebook solution for my practice. Here's what I am trying to do:

I have 2 tables:

1. Assignments Table (Keeps track of Assignments dates, names, subject, etc)

2. Students Table (Name, email, student number, etc.)

I would like to be able to add the name of an assignment from the assignments table as a new field in the students table so that I can give each student a grade for an assignment... I thought of doing an "Add new Assignment" script which will take me to the assignments layout and allow me to enter the assignment information- BUT I cannot figure out how to create a new field in the students layout with the name of the assignment?

Right now I have been trying to solve this using separate tables, but I'm wondering if this would not be easier to just have all the data on 1 table??

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated...

Thanks

You should use three tables: Students, Assignments and a join table of Grades:

Students -< Grades >- Assignments

The Grades table needs fields for:

• StudentID (used to link to the Students table)

• AssignmentID (used to link to the Assignments table)

• Grade

Use a portal to the Grades table to view and create student's grades.

Hi,

Thank you very much for your response. I have set this up in my database, but I am still having a few problems...

Here are my TO's including the join table

Screen shot 2011-01-19 at 12.36.20 PM.png

I have created a Portal that looks at the "Join Table" but nothing shows up in there even though I have 2 Assignments already input.

Screen shot 2011-01-19 at 12.36.06 PM.png

I also can't seem to add anything to the portal (and I checked that "allow creation of records" was checked..

I will continue to muck around, but does anybody have any thoughts??