Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Pricing for a specific project

jrp

This topic is 8124 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I've read through this forum, and have appreciated the info - thanks to everyone.

I've been a full-time Mac consultant for nearly 7 years, and am trying to shift into Filemaker Solutions development - been tooling around with it for years, finally got some good scripting training, and have now landed (almost) my first major project. I'm still a little panicky about pricing issues - hoping that a specific question will bring more specific answers. I'd be very grateful for any help you pros can offer.

My client wants two very limited-use databases for tracking the processes and schedules of a particular project, these two DBs will be related to two others, a contact file and a title file, both very simple, and all will be related with various user levels and reports, etc. With the scripting and calculations involved, and with my own self-education-process, and including implementation & training, I'm estimating this may take me around 40 hours. (But really not at all sure.)

Since this is my first major project, and work has been slow anyway since September, I'm happy for it to take a bit longer than estimated, but certainly don't want to completely screw myself...nor do I want to over-quote and scare my client away.

At NYC market rates, this ends up being around $5000 - is that way too much for a project this scale? Way too little?

Again, many thanks for all your help!

The problem is often a communications gap. What the client thinks he is getting is not what you think he wants. I have never yet done a project where the requirements didn't change (or at least become better defined) part way through. That can make a huge difference between making a nice profit, and losing your shirt.