Please Help! Login and Password?

This topic is 8377 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello.

I am just a beginner with FMPro. I am learning to publish my database on the web.

I have created a login page for my web site, where the user has to type in two inputs - their "UserName" and "Password". The two inputs are then sent to my FMPro Users.fp5 database and filemaker searches for the record that "equals" both the UserName and Password inputs.

I am using the following form within the body of my login page:

---------

<form action="FMPro" method="post" name="loginform">

<input type="hidden" name="-DB" value="Users.fp5">

<input type="hidden" name="-Format" value="userhome.html">

<table width="250" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">

<tr>

<td>User Name</td>

<td>

<input type="hidden" name="-op" value="eq">

<input type="text" name="UserName" size="20">

</td>

</tr>

<tr>

<td>Password</td>

<td>

<input type="password" name="Password" size="20">

</td>

</tr>

<tr>

<td> </td>

<td>

<input type="submit" name="-find" value="Enter">

</td>

</tr>

</table>

</form>

---------

UserNames are unique.

If I leave the Password blank and I type in, for example, "Sam" into the UserName field I will still get the record which has the exact same UserName.

If one of the inputs is left blank then the <input type="hidden" name="-op" value="eq"> tag has no effect! FMPro just finds the record(s) that match the other input.

How do I create a secure login page?

Thanks for your help!!!

Hello lightstardust,

USE THIS RESOURCE OFTEN.

http://www.filemaker.com/support/index.html

Search and read: Article Number: 104829, and Article Number: 105687.

For practical examples of this and other cdml tag usage, I have written specifically for the beginning developer "SIMPLIFY, Custom Publishing Basics for FMPro Solutions, A Browser Demonstration of html/cdml".