Auto-update calculation field?

This topic is 3329 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm new to filemaker Pro 13, well to Filemaker full stop.

I entered a calculation field that having put the date for the next MOT [Vehicle check]... it will compare that date to the current date and then tell me how many days I have left until the MOT needs to be renewed. I can then use this in a portal on my Dashboard layout that gives an overview of things in the business.

The trouble is the calculation field doesn't automatically recalculate unless I enter and exit the "date field called "MOTDue", but obviously I want it to update as one day changes to the next or at least when I open the program.... but probably the former.

Here's the calculation wrapped in a logical function.

If ( MOTDue - Get(CurrentDate)  < 0 ; "Overdue by "  & MOTDue - Get(CurrentDate)  &  " days"; "Due in "   & MOTDue - Get(CurrentDate)  & " days" )

This should give me the days coming up to an MOT... then the days overdue if it runs over.

Any thoughts?

1 ) You need to set the calculation field to unstored.

2 ) You could simplify the calculation as

Let (  
numDays = MOTDue - Get ( CurrentDate ) ; 
Case (   
  numDays = 0 ; "Due today" ;  
  Case ( numDays < 0 ; "Overdue by " ; "Due in " ) & numDays & " days"  )
)

which will also give you a nicer message for MOTdue = today.

Hi Karlos,

Seeing a result of plural when singular result always looks odd to me ( 1 days ) as does a minus ( Overdue by -3 days) so you might wish to consider these small tweaks:

Let ( [
days = Abs ( numDays )
] ;
Case ( 
  not numDays ; "Due today" ;
Case (
  numDays < 0 ; "Overdue by " ;
  "Due in " ) & days
& " day" & Case ( days > 1 ; "s" ) 
)
)

1 ) You need to set the calculation field to unstored.

2 ) You could simplify the calculation as

Let (  
Case (   
  numDays = 0 ; "Due today" ;  
  Case ( numDays < 0 ; "Overdue by " ; "Due in " ) & numDays & " days"  )
)