Using Data from many tables. Relationships are killing me

jeddell

This topic is 3138 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi all,

I've been getting more an more frustrated with the way Filemaker works. I come from and MS Access background and I'm really struggling with Filemaker. I want to learn this, so please forgive me if I dont just hand over my database for you to look at. I did this and someone dazzled me with there brilliance and I ended up deleting the database because it was just way over my head and I could not replicate anything. I am only very new to this program, but I do understand the basics of relational databases

I have a project concept that I;m working on of which I have done many similar projects using MS Access. Part of this is what I'm working on now, but I'm just not getting it. The image below shows four tables, Units, Technical inspections, Craft Type and Craft. The relationships shown in the image are correct and they will all be a one to many relationship. to explain the tables: 

CraftType_tbl: This details the type of watercraft, its name and the capabilities of this fleet of craft, sea state, Capacities. This data would apply to all the craft within the fleet

Craft_tbl: This is data specific to each craft (please forgive any duplication here as I have been trying to get things to work to no avail). The Craft registered number, any serial numbers of equipment on board, who owns the craft etc

Units: This lists units that own watercraft and any information specific to this unit

TechnicalInspections: This is data which gathers information from all of t he tables above as well as some data of its own to build a unique report on the particular craft from the Craft_tbl. These reports are conducted every year on each craft in the craft list. You could call this the "Join table" in this instance.

THE PROBLEM