Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Script to Create New Portal Record

jtbassett4

This topic is 3033 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello - I'm not a developer but have been using FMP for a long time.  I've never learned scripting but am now taking a stab (unsuccessfully as yet) at it.

My database begins with tables for "Projects" ... and these are related to "Grants" ... and these are related to "SubGrants."

From the "Projects" screen, I'm trying to create a script for a button in order to create a new "Grant."

FYI, I've been doing this for years now by simply using the portal relationships ... but I'm designing for use by others, so I'm trying to automate things a bit more so the user doesn't need to know too much about FileMaker.

Here's what I have but it doesn't return a "ProjectID" to the "Grants" table.  Let me know if you can help ... thanks in advance! John B

Set Variable [ $Set Global ID ; Value:Renewal Projects::zDCAProjectIDTemp = Renewal Projects::zDCAProjectID.pk ]

Commit Records/Requests

Go to Layout [ “HUD Grants” (HUD Grants) ]

New Record/Request

Set Field [ HUD Grants::zDCAProjectID.fk ]

Commit Records/Requests

Hi there!  Welcome to FMForums!  :smile3:

I see no purpose in the Renewal Projects::zDCAProjectIDTemp field at all.   Try this:

Set Variable [ $projectID ; Value:Renewal Projects::zDCAProjectID.pk ]

Freeze Window

New Record/Request

Set Field [ HUD Grants::zDCAProjectID.fk ; $projectID ]

Commit Records/Requests

The Commit Records/Requests is not really needed since you will leave your User on the Grants layout to continue entering data, right?  If you plan on simply returning the User to the Projects layout, just add a final step:

Go To Layout [ original layout ]

If you get stuck, post back and we'll help you further.