Creating a related record without switching layouts

Ron Cates

This topic is 4464 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I recently read a post or a blog or something describing a technique for creating a related record using a global field to trigger record creation through a relationship. I have been trying to find it for a couple hours wiith no luck. Can anyone point me to a post or blog that describes this technique?

Thanks

Ron

I think the "Super Quick Data Entry" is very close to the one I had read previously, but hey, this one has a video. Sweet!!

Thanks Ocean

Edit:

What a buzz kill. I downloaded the full version video and it comes up audio only :(

Wow!! I have to say this magic key technique is awsome. I am about to start a rebuild of the Database I've been working on for three years and I am seriously thinking about using this as a standard method for creating related records. For those who are familiar with the technique I wonder if you could tell me if this makes sense to you.

Include a magic key global in every table

Create TOs for creating related records with the magic key

Standard new record script would be accomplished without having to set variables or switching layouts

In one example In the current Database I have a process that

loops through a sometimes very large found set of records.

For each record it ;

sets veriables,

goes to another layout,

creates a new record

sets fields with the variables.

Go back to original layout

Next record repeat

With the magic key technique it would be

For each record it sets fields directly through the magic key relationship thus creating the record

Clear the magic key

Next record repeat

Seems like that would be a very significant difference in processing time.

Any thoughts?

Any thoughts?