Converting symbols when importing data from a .txt file.

romankonis

This topic is 1247 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello! I am a beginner and I need help of advanced users in the matter of converting characters, namely from period to comma. What's the point? There is a CSV file, it contains data.

Example - 5.00%, 20.00%, 2.456, 22.564 and so on. Below is a screenshot of the file so that you understand the content. When importing data from a file into an existing table, the data is displayed as follows - 500 2000 2456 22564 As you noticed, data has no structure and is just a set of numbers. The screenshot will show how it looks after import, and it will also show how the data after import should be displayed. In short - In the imported file, there is a dot between the numbers, and the data is not displayed correctly during import. For import, the button that has the script is responsible, the contents of the script I also gave you below. Guys, I'm in a quandary, help a newbie)) Of course, you can manually change the data in the imported file, namely, instead of periods, propyate commas, or after import, you can manually write wherever a comma is required in numerical values. But, this option is not suitable as well as using third-party software to replace characters. There is a task to use the capabilities of fmp and the existing script.

Script

Set Variable [ $MainID; Value:Sails::MainID ]
Go to Layout [ “PragmatikesTimesTABLE” (RealValue) ]
Show All Records
Set Error Capture [ On ]
Show Omitted Only
Perform Find [ Specified Find Requests: Find Records; Criteria: RealValue::MainID: “$MainID” ]
[ Restore ]
If [ Get ( FoundCount ) ≠ 0 ]
Show Custom Dialog [ Title: "Υπάρχουν εγγραφές "; Message: "Υπάρχουν εγγραφές να τις διαγράψω;"; Default Button: “Ναί -
Διέγραψε”, Commit: “No”; Button 2: “ΟΧΙ - Ακύρωση”, Commit: “No” ]
If [ Get ( LastMessageChoice ) = 2 ]
Exit Script [ ]
End If
Delete All Records
[ No dialog ]
End If