Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Add frames to timecode calculation

Mike_FM

This topic is 1172 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi all,

I'm a film editor and have started building a FM database to be able to track visual effects shots that go in and out of an editing timeline. 

I am trying to create a calculation that will enable me to add frames to timecode and get the result back in timecode.

At the moment I have a text field called 'Scan TC In' which has the following TC entry 18:59:48:23 (HH:MM:SS:FF) and I need to add 8 frames to it, the timeline runs at 24 frames a second. 

Does anyone know how I can achieve this?

I'm a newbie to FM so any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Michael

Start by converting your timecode to frames and adding the duration to the result to get the total number of frames. Then convert the result back to timecode format:

Let ( [
totalFrames = 24 * GetAsTime ( Left ( YourTimecode ; 8 ) ) + Right ( YourTimecode ; 2 ) + YourDuration ;
totalSeconds = Div ( totalFrames ; 24 ) ; 
remFrames = Mod ( totalFrames ; 24 ) 
] ;
SerialIncrement ( "00" ; Mod ( Hour ( totalSeconds ) ; 24 ) ) &
SerialIncrement ( ":00" ; Minute ( totalSeconds ) ) &
SerialIncrement ( ":00" ; Seconds ( totalSeconds ) ) &
SerialIncrement ( ":00" ; remFrames )
)

Edited by comment
  • Like 1

Hi there, thanks so much for this

I should add that the result of Scan TC In + 8 frames needs to go into a new field called Cut In TC... so would I enter this calculation in the Cut In TC field? 

I have been putting in place of 'YourTimecode' the Scan TC In field... is this correct for both left and right and also do I need to first work out the duration of the timecode or does this calculation do it for me?

Thanks for you help

Michael

46 minutes ago, Mike_FM said:

I should add that the result of Scan TC In + 8 frames needs to go into a new field called Cut In TC... so would I enter this calculation in the Cut In TC field?