Server Maintenance This Week. ×

How to create a Bar Chart that shows the Office divisions on the X-Axis and the Number of Staff on the Y-Axis?

emtau

I have a simple database with Field Staff Name, Gender and Office Division. Then I wanted to create a Chart that will show how many staff are on each Division. I am thinking of a Bar Chart or a Pie Chart. I have no experience working with Charts so if you could please help me with this simple one and I will try my best to build maybe a complex chart later.

Thank you.

13 minutes ago, comment said:

It's not the simplest chart you could think of, but see if the attached demo helps.

Thank you.

Edited by emtau

I would like to extend on this question, is it possible to create Chart from a different table and what would be the relationship between the Char table and the Staff/Groups table? I asked this for the purpose of maybe a Dashboard where the Dashboard will show Charts of sorts as for analysis view, but those Charts actually reflect the data on other tables related to this Dashboard table?

A chart can use data from one of the following sources:

• records in the found set of the current table;
  • records in a related table;
  • return-delimited list/s (held e.g. in a calculation field or in a variable).

If you wanted to produce the chart from a Dashboard table and still have it reflect all staff records, you would need to make all staff records related by using the X relational operator. Alternatively you could script the process and create return-delimited variables to be used by the chart. This would not require a relationship at all (and might be preferable especially if you also wanted to show data from other tables).

• 2 weeks later...