FM7 Design Question, Relations + Portals

This topic is 7279 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi All- I am brand new to FileMaker, although I have a broad, nonDB programming background. I am creating a test DB modelling the following - A list of Presentations, each with One Author, a Person, and Several Documents associated with the presentation. I have a good start on this, but am confused about the Docs.

In the enclosed example file, I have a relation to get the Person data, data entry layouts for the 3 source tables, and a pretty display layout for a final product to an audience. I am not sure how to make the List of Documents show up in the final display, nor how to make the list of docs known to the Presentation. I am trying to list the docKeys in the PresentationTO layout. Once I have that working, I will add the list of docs to the final display.

Perhaps someone might throw some advice out there.

thanks in advance -Brian

confused.gifconfused.gif

FileMaker Version: 7

Platform: Mac OS X Panther

testP.zip

I have attached your file (modified)... your relationship between presenation and doc tables should be between two fields that have equal values. I created an extra field in the DocumentTO to match the presentation index. I also modified the relation to allow creation of records. Now you can add records to documents from the portal by simply entering text into the doclink field.

Hope this helps

FileMaker Version: Dev 7

testP.fp7.zip

What I think you are telling me is that when there is a Table 'Docs', from which several elements will be listed in a related Table Occurance, 'Docs' has an additional field added to it, containing an ID or Index referring to that outside Table Occurance.

In other programming environments, when an object is added to a list, it is the [color:"blue"]list holder's responsibility to store the reference or pointer or copy etc, not the object being listed.