Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Deleting Duplicate Records

This topic is 6741 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am fairly new to Filemaker and come from a relational database background. Working with an old data set strewn with errors, I came upon a set of 300+ records out of 2000 that were duplicates of some sort. I set out to delete those records, but quickly saw some hurdles...

I found this post on how to delete duplicates:

http://www.afilemakeraffliction.com/list/howto/afa1095.html

I didn't really feel like implementing as he did to delete the duplicates, so I fudged this solution.

For the sake of simplicity say you have 1 field: id, in a file called Foo.

1. Create a self-relationship with 'id'.

2. Create a calculation field '_count_dupes' that does this Count(Foo::id).

3. Write a script to loop through all the records:

# begin the script

Go to Record[First]

Freeze Window

Enter Find Mode

Set Field[id, "!"] #not necessary, but should speed up the search

Perform Find, Replace Found Set

Loop

Loop

Exit Loop If (_count_dupes <= 1) #could just do = 1, but <= to be safe.

Delete Record/Request[No Dialog]

End Loop

Go to Record[Next, Exit after last]

End Loop

Refresh Window

Go To Record[First]

#end the script

Naturally, after doing the perform find you may want to order the records based upon some sort of Creation date to not delete the first created record...

I haven't seen this particular method posted anywhere. Hopefully, it can be of some use to someone and maybe you might be able to use it or better yet improve upon it!

It appears you're deleting originals and leaving duplicates (unless there are records with more than one dupe, in which case you're randomly deleting records) with this technique. Is that really what you wanted to do?

It would probably help to use the self-relationship serial technique to flag which records are originals and which are dupes. Then after performing your find