Question quick noob question

This topic is 6597 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi all, :)

First time post on this forum so please go easy on me. As you can see from my SN I am a noob at Filemaker or Database in general, so please bear with me for my noobness. :

Okay here is my question:

Say I have Three columnes of numbers,

Item ID_______Item Detail___Item Price

1________________2__________3

2________________7,6,9_______5

3___________________________7

4________________4,6,8_______4

332______________99,89,01____99

Okay now I want to combine the numbers in Item detail into Item ID, but still keep the Item price relative to the Item Price so it would look like

Item ID_______Item Price

12_____________3

27_____________5

26_____________5

29_____________5

3______________7

44_____________4

46_____________4

48_____________4

33299__________99

3389___________99

3301___________99

How can I do that in FM 7?? or is it even possible??

Again sorry if I asked in the wrong place or the wrong forum, but I am new to FM and Database so I am not sure where else I should ask this question.. :

Thanks

I'll try and go easy. But it looks like you should have 2 tables here, one for Items and one for Item details (or whatever you call the 2; as long as there's 2). That would almost immediately give you what you want. The "Item ID" you show would be just the 2 id's put together.

Any developer would tell you that this ID should be for viewing only however. The fact that you use a 6 twice in the Details brings up a question of what these id's are, and where they're coming from. You do not use such things for your internal links, not if there can be duplicates.