Server Maintenance This Week. ×

If / Then

PC Infoman

This topic is 6211 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Try an auto-entry text field as calculated value with the 'Do not replace' unchecked.

price1 and price2

Case ( not qty; "Call" )

price3

Case ( not qty; "N/A" )

I am sorry John. I am new to this filemaker stuff. Can you explain to me what exactly I need to do to make your suggestion happen?

I would have thought I needed to attach some kind of script to the price1, price2 and price3 fields to have it look at the quantity field and then act appropriately. Am I wrong?

My I should explain more clearly:

This is a catalog database. My fields are as follows

InStockRental - Taking a product that is in stock and renting it.

InStockSale - Taking a product that is in stock and selling it.

NewBuildRental - Making a new product and renting it.

NewBuildSale - Making a new product and selling it.

Quantity - How many that are in stock.

Clearance - Selling off old stock at a cheaper price.

The only editable fields are "Quantity" and "NewBuildRental".

When somebody puts a dollar value in "NewBuildRental", it automatically calculates the value of "InStockRental", "InStockSale", "NewBuildSale" and "Clearance".

What I would like is for the calculation for "NewBuildrental", "NewBuildSale" and "Clearance" to be usurped with the text of my choice if the "Quantity" is 0 or blank while still doing the calculation for "NewBuildSale". If the value of "Quanity" is anything other than 0 or blank, I would like it to calculate all fields normally.

Edited by Guest

not GetAsBoolean ( Quantity )

gives true ( 1 ) when quantity is 0 or blank, so you can make a calculation with Case function.

for example:

Case(

not GetAsBoolean ( Quantity );"the text of your choise";

"the normal calc"

)

not GetAsBoolean ( number ) = not number

not GetAsBoolean ( number ) = not number or IsEmpty ( number )