Executing SQL against tables

This topic is 5453 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

My apologies if this is in the wrong area...I am very new to file maker but have extensive database/data modelling/reporting experience with other larger platforms.

I have a couple things that I am trying to do in File Maker, and not sure if they are possible, or how to do them:

1. I have a new related table that I would like to populate. In general I can do this quickly with a sql statement, but how do I execute this SQL statement against the File Maker database? I see that you can write a SQL to execute against an ODBC/JDBC source, but I just want to execute it in the database that I am working in. A sample of the SQL:

Insert into (new table) select column1 from existing table

2. What is the best way to prompt a user for inputs? Example:

Pull all the records from table where a date range is between start date and end date. Where the start date and end date are being input by the user.

3. Again...SQL...

How can I perform a delete...

Delete from TableA where column1 = "Delete"

Sorry if these are trivial. I have figured out some things on my own, but some of the things that I have done with other products...seem to not funtion the same way in FileMaker.

Thanks in advance for any input.

Because FileMaker is so different than some other relational DBs it may be a steeper learning curve for you to "unwire" your normal thought process. FileMaker is very context based and therefore layouts and table occurrences play an important part in understanding FM.

1. I have a new related table that I would like to populate. In general I can do this quickly with a sql statement, but how do I execute this SQL statement against the File Maker database? I see that you can write a SQL to execute against an ODBC/JDBC source, but I just want to execute it in the database that I am working in. A sample of the SQL: