rt916

Script Trigger to show/hide a field based on data in another field

Hello,

I am working on an older FMP 11 database and trying to create some new features while we wait to migrate to FMP 14. I setup a layout with some basic data collection, where some of the fields are simple YES/NO drop down selections. The data gets populated into another layout for printing and exporting, and I have a few fields where the visibility needs to be based on the result of the YES/NO response. That seems to be available with the inspector in FMP 14, but all of the users are on FMP 11 for a unknown amount of time. 

I assume this needs to be created using a script trigger on the layout, to run at OnRecordLoad.

Something like If table::record = YES, display this text result. But I am new to FMP and learning the functions.

Any help would be very much appreciated!! Thank you in advance!

I think the Hide When... functions only became available in FM Pro 13

After that you get into different layouts for for showing/hiding (blecch!)

• Like 1

One way to do it is with conditional formatting. Based on the results of a calculation, you can change the color of the text to match the layout background; or, you can change the size of the text to a very large number so that it's pushed outside the boundaries of the field or text box.

• Like 2

Hey Fitch do you have an example I can look at possibly? Not sure if I would have to change the YES/NO field to a value list, and return a 1 value with a checked box to base that calculation off. Seems like all these FMP 11 work-arounds get very... creative! Maybe I should push for the new features to be available on FMP 14 and try building them in there?