List variable

H1sc

This topic is 3803 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm sure I'm missing something obvious, but I cannot find the answer to this. I'm not a programmer, but I had a very little experience with python, and I used to use list variables. How do I use them on FileMaker Pro? I would really love to set a list and be able to retrieve the last value, the first, the third, etc. I remember in python it was as easy as ListName[numberofitem], and I could even use ListName[-numberoftheitembackwards]

Am I missing something obvious? Isn't it possible to define a list variable in filemaker pro?

Check out the native FM functions GetValue(), FilterValues(), LeftValues(), RightValues(), MiddleValues(), ValueCount(), ValueListIDs(), ValueListItems() and ValueListNames(). There is alot of power when these are combined with the other native functions, script steps and custom functions

There are two main ways to approach list data structures in FileMaker: return-delimited lists, and "repeating" variables.

Return-delimited lists are text strings with elements separated by returns. You can build them by concatenating values with returns or by using the list function:

$valueOne & ¶ & $valueTwo & ¶ & $valueThree
List ( $valueOne ; $valueTwo ; $valueThree )