Server Maintenance This Week. ×

This topic is 3841 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi,

I need some help.  I am wanting to validate a user input on one table to a value in another table without any relationship.

I was hoping I could write an Execute SQL for the following.

Field: "SearchPassword"  in ( Table A )

Field: "Admin Password" in ( Table B )  If match continue, if not EXIT.

Or I'm on ( Table C ) and I would like to enter a "Password" in a Global Field ( Table A ) and check it to the "Admin Password" also in ( Table A )  If match continue, if not EXIT.

All I want to do is provide a field on any table, check that field to the "Admin Password" field in my Preference Table without have to build relationship on each table.

I'm very new to SQL and I'm trying to understand it and this example would provide me with a very nice Bicycle as a point of reference in my mind so I can reference as I start my learning SQL

Any assistance with the about password check I would be grateful.

Thank you.

Tom :-)

[email protected]

The global field that the user types into is available from any context without a relationship.  The only SQL that you would need then is a simple SELECT

SELECT AdminPassword FROM TableB

Provided that TableB has only 1 record.  Otherwise you need to specify what record to target:

SELECT AdminPassword FROM TableB WHERE someField = something

• Like 1

Hi Wim,

Having trouble, the result throws a "?".  Here is the calculation ...

ExecuteSQL ( 

"SELECT Preference::Administrative Password

FROM Preference

WHERE Preference::Search Text  =  Preference::Administrative Password"

; "" ; "" )

The "Search Text" is my global fields and the Administrative Password is the "One" record fields with the data.

Thank you.

Tom

Hi,

Now try executing this SQL command:

ExecuteSQL ( 

"SELECT Administrative Password

FROM Preference

WHERE Search Text  = ?" 

; "" ; "";Preference::Administrative Password)

Regards