Simple inventory database

This topic is 3223 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am relatively new to Filemaker and am trying to make a simple database for taking inventory of fabrics. I have a table with the fields Quantity added, Quantity issued and Quantity in stock. I would like the Quantity in stock field to be  Quantity added - Quantity issued for the first record and for subsequent records I would like it to be Previous value of Quantity in stock + Quantity added - Quantity issued. I don't know how to do this in Filemaker. Here is a screenshot of my table as it stands now.

Table_view.thumb.jpg.7650f6cf8567e6ce547

Manage_fields_view.thumb.jpg.7cd9b9cea18

I can do this quite easily in Excel. In the example below, for the first Quantity in stock value, I have the cell F2 = C2. Subsequently (F3 onwards), I have the value as being F2+C3-C4 and so on.

Excel.thumb.jpg.a9a105f32ffb43fe179e8317

I'd really like to replicate this in Filemaker so that I can have an accurate value in the Quantity in stock field.

Edited by confusedmuch
Didn't attach pictures properly

I guess the first thing you figured was:

...am trying to make a simple database for taking inventory ...

..is not so simple.  I would look here:

https://www.filemaker.com/solutions/starter-solutions.html

at the Inventory Starter solution, or here:

http://www.fmstartingpoint.com/

for some ideas regarding structure 

And for a much broader discussion about database transaction concepts, I see that Jeremy Bante found an re-tweeted a link to this presentation.

But that presentation is way beyond the notion of "simple inventory"

Transactions: Myths, Surprises, and Opportunities

https://speakerdeck.com/ept/transactions-myths-surprises-and-opportunities

• Newbies