Surgical database - Unable enter portal field to create or view related field

GarthT

This topic is 3196 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi everyone!

I am a surgeon trying to create a FM solution to analyse some of the cases I have been involved in.

The main table I have set up is: Patients and one patient can have many "Referrals"; "Consultations"; "Admissions" and "Operations" - I have set up one to many relationships and this all seems to work fine.

I am working on the relationships between "Operations" and "Surgeons"; "Procedures"; "Antibiotics" and "Complications". I believe these should be many to many relationships; i.e. one operation can have many surgeons and one surgeon can do many operations. Thus I have set up a join table containing the foreign keys for Operation and Surgeon.

I want to be able to enter surgeon specific data (Name, Grade etc) in the Operation table by looking for it in the Surgeon table.

I believe this would be best done using a portal.

Try as I might, I cannot get this to work. The portal just appears as a box in browse mode and I cannot enter it, let alone, look up records from it.

I have set the portal to allow entry in Browse mode and have set the relationship to allow creations of records via this relationship in the Operation table.

I am going around in circles and not getting anywhere! I would be grateful for any help.

I have attached to file

Thanks

Garth

Pilonidal Solution v.2.fmp12

I have set the portal to allow entry in Browse mode and have set the relationship to allow creations of records via this relationship in the Operation table.

But you want to create records in the join tables, not the Operation table; so you need to set the table occurrences of these join tables to allow creation.