Help! CreatedBy requires a value error

This topic is 1982 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello there

I am hoping for some guidance from those far more knowledgable than I. I am new to filemaker, using the Asset template, adding some extra fields and making it work for me, unfortunately, there is an error with "CreatedBy is defined to require a value, but it is not available on this layout" as the pop up.

I have worked out I need to have a box, linked to createdby, I am logged in, when I complete the process of assigning an asset to an individual, the createdby linked box inserts my name automatically, then when I try to click off or to a new asset entry, the warning comes up. 

I am on mac, Mojave, if that makes any difference. I have validation on "not empty" which it isn't, as my name is auto populated, so not sure how else to sort this out. Any advice would be appreciated, aware this may be a little vague, I'm new at this so let me know what extra you need to see.

Many thanks

Mat Richardson

Screenshot 2018-10-23 at 22.41.44.png

Screenshot 2018-10-23 at 22.42.53.png

Screenshot 2018-10-23 at 22.43.04.png

• Newbies

Hi, thanks for answering! I checked both of those options, it didn't change anything when I unticked the "not empty" box within the Assignments table, same error. So I unticked it in all 4 of the tables, Assignments, Vendors, Employees, Assets, still no change, same error. I checked the privilege set, I have full access to everything, so I don't think it's that.