Link to Google Doc/Pdf files

This topic is 1507 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi,

As a complete novice to FMP, I'm attempting my very first database. We rely on storing our contracts on Google & Dropbox. I've been trying to either embed the pdf's into a "tab", or (my preferred option) to have an "Add URL" button to link to the online pdf.

I tried adding a field and copying and pasting the URL, but it's not clickable, and I'd need to add another field for each pdf/contract.

Is there a better more efficient way to do this?

Thanks

Steve

Hi Wim, 

Thanks for your reply - we've been using Podio as our "contacts CRM/database" for a couple of year's but have become despondent with it for various reasons. In that system, we had the facility to "add a document". Clicking on "Add Document" produced a new field, into which we could add the URL of the Google pdf/pdf we needed to locate from within that contact's information sheet.

The URL was then "clickable" so as to allow one-click access to our document via the default browser.

Is it possible to make a button to do something similar in FMP 18?

Hope that makes sense?

Edited by St3v1e

Thanks Wim, 

OK I'll check that out, thanks.

We add pdf's, Google Docs to these contacts frequently, and so these fields need to be created regularly - is there a method by which I can simply Click a button to add a field with these attributes already included.

The objective is to click an "add Document" button, which produces an additional field, into which I can add the URL, which will link to the URL/Doc when clicked inside the contact window? Usually we have no more than 8-10 of these per contact, so it's easy to allow space on one side of the contact area.