Confused Newbie - Many to one relationship

This topic is 1421 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I’m new to FMPA 18, and have been “playing” with it over the past few months after being asked by my supervisor to create a small database to keep track of our customers. Nothing too fancy, but just enough that we can search for a name/company, create a few notes and print a pdf/invoice when required etc.

I’ve been creating a few test databases and have checked out hours and hours of online tutorials, but this particular issue has me confused & frustrated.

I’m trying to figure out how to have many contacts (employees) associated with one company (many to one?). I created a portal in the “Contacts” layout which references only the “CompanyName” field in the “Companies” table, and then created another portal in the “Companies” layout to show all employee’s in that company.

My setup:-

Tables:
I currently have a “Contacts” table, and a “Companies” table, and will eventually add the “Notes” table before looking into more complex items (pdf’s etc).

Fields:
Both tables have Primary Keys (formatted as Text) setup to use the “Get( UUID)” reference (“Calculated Value” box in the Options/Auto-Enter window with also the “Do not replace existing value of field (if any)” box). Also in the same Options/Validation window, I’ve checked “only during data entry”, “Not empty” & “Unique Value” to complete the Primary key setup.

I’ve followed this same process for the “Companies” table PK field.

Next I created a foreign key (“company_id” - my PK’s are upper case, and FK’s lower case), which is formatted as “Text” in both tables and has no other formatting or field “Options” applied.

Finally, in the “Relationships” tab, I initially connected the PK (Contacts) & FK(Companies) together and checked “Allow Creation of records in this table via this relationship” in the “Company” table. (See attached screenshot)