Help setting up tables and relationships based on XML

JMW

This topic is 836 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I've mentioned this before.  My background is in programming in a CAD/manufacturing environment.  So, while I am familiar with coding and have been learning to write and develop Filemaker scripts for several years database setup and relationships are a weakness.  That said, I am creating a system to submit lens orders for eyeglasses to a lab.  The lens catalog is sent to each doctors office from the lab in xml format.  Each catalog can have different content but the XML  format is the same.  I know how to write the xslt to import the catalog.  What I'm struggling with is setting up the tables in a file.  I created a file named after the vendor and in it I have created several tables to match the structure of the xml as much as I can.  What I am struggling with is setting up a relationship for lens treatments and exclusions based on treatment chosen.  Here is a small sample of the xml from a catalog.

<TREATMENT Description="Crizal Alize UV" VwCode="AR-ALIZEUV">
      <INCOMPATIBLE Description="Standard A/R" VwCode="AR-AR" />
      <INCOMPATIBLE Description="Clearsight Claris" VwCode="AR-CLARIS" />
	</TREATMENT>
	<TREATMENT Description="Crizal Avance UV" VwCode="AR-CRZAVCUV">
      <INCOMPATIBLE Description="Crizal Alize UV" VwCode="AR-ALIZEUV" />
	</TREATMENT>
    <TREATMENT Description="Standard A/R" VwCode="AR-AR">
      <INCOMPATIBLE Description="Clearsight Claris" VwCode="AR-CLARIS" />
      <INCOMPATIBLE Description="Clearsight AR" VwCode="AR-CLEAR" />
	</TREATMENT>
    <TREATMENT Description="Clearsight Claris" VwCode="AR-CLARIS">
      <INCOMPATIBLE Description="Clearsight AR" VwCode="AR-CLEAR" />
      <INCOMPATIBLE Description="Crizal Avance UV" VwCode="AR-CRZAVCUV" />
	</TREATMENT>
    <TREATMENT Description="ESColor Emerald Blue" VwCode="TINT-EMERALDBLUE" />