Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Part-time / consulting Filemaker developer sought

SJM

This topic is 6803 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi,

I need some long term help and advice. Here is some background.

I am a novice (mostly) to Filemaker but am experienced developing database and other applications with script languages like Python and Perl. I am working in a small company that has a large legacy ERP application written in Filemaker Pro 6. The application is poorly thought out (it is rife with classical novice database designer errors) and is quite a mess (no consistent style whatsoever, no documentation), but it also contains useful insight into our business processes, has several good looking layouts, and of course is currently (and has been for a couple of years) in production use and so has lots of essential data.

Now, the system is extremely difficult for me to modify in any substantial way. In addition to new features and changes to the workflows, we need to integrate with several other systems, including our new CRM application, Salesforce.com, and our accounting software, QuickBooks. After considering a number of options we decided to rewrite our ERP in Filemaker 8. We will use better design to make the system easier to understand, enhance and modify. We need to do this in 4-6 weeks, and I will have one other in-house IT person (who is also pretty much a Filemaker novice) working with me full time on this.

Some of the reasons we have chosen Filemaker 8 for the new system include the excellent enhancements to the database over Filemaker 6; the RAD aspects, especially wrt the UI; and the fact that Filemaker is familiar to everyone in our company and no other system would be easier for other people to modify in the future - some purely custom Perl system would have me basically married to the thing in a way I don't want to be.