Weblike interface

This topic is 6524 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi all,

I hope someone might be able to help me out by shedding some light on my problem or even pointing me in the right direction. Please do let me know if I'm posting in the wrong section as this seemed like the most likely place. I'm a newbie at this so hope that you can be patient with me.

Brief history:

"I'm trying to create a simple solution for a database of properties transacted(sold) in my area. In this database, it would contain photos of the houses along with certain general details such as land sizes, the road name and postal number. There would be a table/portal to show the different sales transaction on that particular property."

I have 2 problems that I need to figure out:

(1) Interface

(2) Data importing (I know this is not related to the topic but since I'm talking about the whole solution I hope you all don't mind me putting it here)

Problem (1)

The reason I stated on the subject header 'weblike' is because the best way I can think of presenting this database in a user friendly way would be from a overhead detailed map(sample attached to provide a better idea of what I'm talking about) with the user being able to select whichever property he/she is interested in knowing more details about. I know that there are a few ways to make buttons so that they may select that property such as drawing shapes:circles or squares/retangular or setting the text as a button. However each property comes in different shapes and sizes and thus this is my problem. In other applications, one is able to draw whatever shape they would like and turn that into a button. An example would be on dreamweaver, u can draw any shape n size for a 'hotspot' for users to click on. Is filemaker able to do something like this?

Problem 2: