Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Setting a relationship by name but keying it by ID

This topic is 4657 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Sorry if this was already covered but I already tried searching for this for hours, I swear. And, as you'll soon see, I'm new to FM relationships.

Say I have two tables, each with two fields:

Doctors: doctorid, doctorname

Patients: patientid, patientname

It's a many-to-many relationship so I have a join table:

DoctorPatient: doctorid, patientid

I set it up to create records on the join table from either of the other two tables.

Is there a way for the user to add a patientdoctor relationship by choosing a name from the drop-down list and it adds the correct IDs to the join list? I was able to figure out a solution with script triggers but I want to make sure FMP9 users are able to use it too.

jointables.zip

Here's a link to a popup selector demo technique that I use for populating join tables when a simple popup menu would be too long and cumbersome. However, you could simply use a popup menu. On the Doctor form, create a portal to the join table. In the portal row, format the _kF_PatientID field to be a popup menu using a value list that consists of PatientID and PatientFullName. Only show the second value.

Likewise, on the Patient Form, create a portal to the join table. Format the _kF_DoctorID to be a popup menu with a value list that consists of DoctorID and DoctorFullName.

• Newbies

On the Doctor form, create a portal to the join table. In the portal row, format the _kF_PatientID field to be a popup menu using a value list that consists of PatientID and PatientFullName. Only show the second value.

Likewise, on the Patient Form, create a portal to the join table. Format the _kF_DoctorID to be a popup menu with a value list that consists of DoctorID and DoctorFullName.

This is exactly what I'm looking for. Thank you so much. I had no idea that feature existed.