Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Sports Scheduling Problem - Combinations for Fixtures

hutcheedingo

This topic is 3709 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Let me first preface this by saying I am by no means an expert on Filemaker, more an enthusiast looking to save my small regional field hockey facility from purchasing an expensive shrink wrapped package.

So...

After searching high and low for a way in which to generate a sports leagues fixture, by using a combination of Custom Functions, Calculations and Scripting.  I've also been working on my own to generate something that will get me closer to my goal.

This forum post is VERY close, but I've come up with a few things that make for a little more flexibility.  Also, the solution posted by Eos has an issue with calculating the fixtures for a league that has an odd number of teams.  That being said some points within this solution have been invaluable in getting my solution to where it currently is, so a very big thanks to Eos for his assistance previously.

Onto my solution... Posted Here

There are two issues at this stage, no doubt more will pop up...

1) The Match List, which utilises a CF called UnorderedPairs found on Brian Dunning's site, is sequential meaning all the 1 | x values are generated first, and then the 2 | x values and so on... Instead the combinations need to come out in a series that allows each team to play only once, and balances the distribution of the fixtures over the time slots available during the season. Home and Away designations DO NOT Matter, since all games are played at a single venue, with the time being the only designation for each round of fixtures.

2) The Loop that creates the fixtures does not carry the previous values forward with the counter, so each round ends up being the same, the script needs to 'remember' the used values and then step forward to the next available value from the match list at the completion of each round.