Help with Relationship Diagram

biiiink

This topic is 3441 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello

I'm pretty new to Filemaker.  I'm using FM 13 Advanced.  I've taken 2 courses on filemaker on Lynda.com.  I feel that I've got a good grasp on the application, but I'm certainly still new, and still learning

I am designing a database for my group insurance business.

I'm working on the Relationship Diagram, and I think I have most of it sorted out, but I've run into one problem.

I'll start by describing how the DB will work.

Each one of our Clients will have a minimum of one Policy.  Each Policy will be through an Insurance Carrier.  Each Policy will consist of the lines of benefits that the Client has chosen (ex. Life Insurance, Health, Dental, etc.)  Also each Policy will have a minimum of one Class.  Roughly 80% of all policies will only have one class. 18% will have 2-3 and 2% will have 4+.  Each Policy will have rates associated with them and a date that the policy renews.  Every time the Policy renews, the rates are likely to change.  99% of the time, the rates will be the same for every class in the policy, however, it is possible for each class to have its own rates.  We need the database to track the rate changes in the policy every year.  Also, the Clients are able to change the lines of benefits their Policy covers at any time (ex. changing the amount of coverage, adding new lines of benefits)

We also want the ability to take notes on our Clients and their policies.

I've attached A diagram of what I have so far.  The issues Im having is with the Policies/Renewals/Classes relationship.

The biggest problem i'm having is where to store the rates, so that they can be tracked each year, and can also be different for each class.

Any help/advice/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

post-112209-0-64309800-1416593538_thumb.

It looks like you're off to the right start. Let's break it up into smaller pieces.