Sign in to follow this  
gjowilson

Help creating efficient data entry layout in a many to many relationship

Hello,

I'm a relative newbie to databases and Filemaker - so please excuse me if there is a really easy answer to this that I am not aware of.

So... here is my scenario:

Purpose of database: to link together people, organisations, evidence (i.e., pieces of information relating to people, organisations, or the relationships between people-org, people-people, org-org). 

I won't bring all the tables into this discussion as one the problem has been solved in one area, it is solved everywhere. So, taking this particular instance:

My  tables are:

People:      __pkPersonID, title, firstName, surname, AKA, fullName, DOB, DOD, information, notes

Organisation:      __pkOrgID, orgName, founded, terminated, notes

JOIN_people_organisation:     __pkJOINtableID, _fkPersonID, _fkOrgID, relationshipDescription, notes

Note - the JOIN table is there because there will be many-to-many relationships

My situation is this. I will have a large number of people, a large number of organisations and the need to continually add new people and new organisations - plus the ability to add either/or during the creation of a new relationship between them.

Here's some fake data (not relevant to my database)

People:

1, John Lennon

2, Paul McCartney

3, Ringo Starr

4, Mick Jagger

5, Kurt Cobain

6, Courtney Love

7, Alan Klein

8, Bill Geffen

Organisations

1, The Beatles

2, The Rolling Stones

I create a layout based on the JOIN table with the aim of creating relationships. This is where my problem starts.

I add my first relationship, an easy one - John Lennon, The Beatles