Automatic Fax Back

This topic is 7919 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I just started learning about FileMaker and the web. Here's an idea I had, wondering if this would work (or work securely). I don't actually need to do this, I'd just like to know how/if it could be done should I decide to do it...

Customers could go to our web site to check their account balance. They would enter their client ID and postal code into a search which requires exact match for security. They would then see a list of invoices (showing only invoice number, date, total, paid, and due... no personal information).

I'd like to then have a "Fax Back" button next to each invoice which would tell FileMaker to fax the invoice to the number on file. I read in another thread that said running scripts through the web is a BADDDD idea... but what if this button just took you to another database ("fax requests") where the system would create a new record, enter the invoice # you requested, and the user could enter the "attn" name.

Then every half-hour or so, you could have your FileMaker unlimited system check this database file and if there are any new records, it will fax to the attention of the name given using the fax number on file for that customer.

This "fax requests" database would also be handy to have internally... currently we always print and fax manually when customers request copies of invoices... it's a real pain because we also have to print a cover sheet for every fax we send (our individual workstations don't have a phone connection).

Am I dreaming here or is doable? And is this the right way to go about it?