Server Maintenance This Week. ×

This topic is 7496 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

[color:"blue"]Which book should I purchase?

"Advanced FileMaker Pro Techniques For Developers" by Chris Moyer and Bob bowers

OR

"The Book of FileMaker 6" by Chris Kubica.

I'm an Access developer who is interested in learning FMP6.

I'm a quick learner & I want to dig [color:"red"]DEEP [color:"blue"](e.g. Scripting, ODBC, etc...) into FMP.

Thank you in advance.

-Spiral

Hmm, as an Access developer you will likely find the Moyer/Bowers book more helpful, as it is pretty advanced and mostly speaks to design theory. However the Kubica book is more specific to Filemaker and really throughly covers both basic and advanced topics, but does not get into as much theory or advanced concepts.

Personally I own both.

"Special Edition Using Filemaker Pro 5," by Rich Coulombre and Jonathan Price, is also a very good book. Both it and Chris Moyers' book are intermediate to advanced, with more specific examples than basics. The former is a little better read though, IMHO; though Chris's has some good routines.

I found the database relational theory in the Moyers' book to somewhat tedious, spending much of its time arguing that FileMaker conforms to Normalization rules. Strangely enough, another book which is dedicated to the subject, but not application-specific, "Database Design for Mere Mortals," by Michael Hernandez, who is an Access developer, was easier to digest.

Some say his book is a bit simplistic and repetitive, but for us "normal" folks (pun), without computer science degrees, it's a great introductory book. It also has lots of tidbits on development, from interviewing clients, to Entity relationship diagrams (simple ones), to checklists for field attributes, etc., just like the big boys use :(-/