newbie needs help with oneevent triggering another

This topic is 7259 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I have a form where I use a pull down menu to select a client. I'd like that to trigger other events too, such as select that client's phone, fax, email and company name in other boxes automatically - currently, I have to do all of these manually. So if I choose client A from the menu, client A's phone etc would appear in the phone area without me having to go there and select it from a drop down menu.

I have very little experience with fmpro, so go easy on me!

Thanks in advance.

Iwaa,

I assume you have at least two files/tables, one with clients, and another with appointments or invoices or some such. I'll assume you've already set up a relation between these, and I'll call the file you're working with "Events" for now... Two options:

1. Don't record the client's peripheral data (phone etc.) in the Events file/table at all. In any layout, you can make related info display on screen or print by placing a field from the related table. If you choose this option and make a change in your client's phone number over in the clients file, you'll notice that the phone number now changes here in the Events file too. This is a good thing for many purposes such as appointments or ongoing jobs, and it makes data storage more efficient. To place a related field on a layout, you'll use the field tool to draw the field at the right location, and then use the drop-down menu at the top of the "specify field" dialog to choose the clients file as a source of fields. Any field from that client's record is fair game to display on the Event records for that client.