Count field - grateful for your advice

This topic is 7247 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi

I have a database of 10,000 records. One of the fields is 'Profession', validated against a Value List of 30 professions. I want to create a field which automatically counts up how many records there are for each profession, and displays the number on each record. So it would show Joe Bloggs as Surveyor and then say '40' if there were 39 other surveyors.

I'm a beginner at this, but should I be setting up a calculation field which uses the Count function, and if so, can anyone advise how I should define it, assuming the Profession field is called 'Profession'.

Thanks.

Philip

Hi Queue

Thanks for the advice. I've created the self-relationship, and created a new calculation field, but I'm not sure what the (relationshiop::id) is. If I haven;t exhausted your patience, can you explain?

Thanks.

Philip

Philip, relationship::id translates to the related id or serial number field (unique identifier) based on the self-relationship we've just created. When you create the calculation, enter Count(, then select the self-relationship from the menu above the field list, and the serial number field from the resulting list. Then enter the closing parenthesis.

FMFan, formatting a field as a radio button or checkbox is merely a visual aide. It doesn't change the content of the field. If you have field with "yes" and "no" radio buttons, the field contains either yes or no. So a test for the value would be If [field = "yes"] or If [field = "no"]. If you are using checkboxes or expecting that more than one radio button option will be selected, use If [PatternCount( field, "yes" )], et al.

Did not work Queue. Actually, I have a checkbox that is either selected or not selected. I want to be able to determine whether the checkbox is selected or not by writing a script that says if check then do this else do this. Any suggestions?