Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Rates for a FMP Expert

rossination

This topic is 6272 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Forgive me if this is the wrong place to post this question - it seemed the most appropriate, but I may be wrong.

To all you FMP professionals: what do you usually charge? I'm asking because I'm trying to explain to my boss why we need to have someone come in and help us streamline our databases (I am far from an expert in Filemaker!). We would need someone to do the following things:

• Help us integrate FMP with Quickbooks (which would require the purchase of another program)
  • Write us some scripts to automate daily tasks we do with the database
  • (Possibly) redesign parts of the database to make it easier to use

I understand that no one can make any sort of quote given these sorts of vague demands. But if you have the skill set to work with issues such as ours, what do you charge per hour?

Thank you in advance! Y'all can (possibly) expect a posting in the "help wanted" section soon. :

P.S. Forgot to mention - we're in Seattle, and an in-person consultant would probably be preferable to something done via the network of tubes that is the Internet. If that changes things, let me know.

Edited by Guest

It usually depends on the work and also the developer of course. I have seen anywhere between $40 - $200/hr over the years. If there is intensive integration with other services and applications, then the price can get a bit pricey.

Howdy;

I concur; rates range from $40US per hour for basic level stuff through to hundreds per hour depending on the level of integration required.

For integrating quickbooks in to FM using the existing plugins; and assuming your filemaker solution isn't spaghetti; i would expect you to be paying around the $50 per hour mark. Same for basic scripting; possibly a little less.