Appeal for Expert Help!

Carl Morris

This topic is 4896 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi everyone,

I am sorry if this is not in the right forum, but I could not find a suitable one.

My name is Carl Morris and I am a professional pool player, but this job brings some spare time with it - spare time I like to use to help charities. I am profoundly deaf myself and would not be where I am today were it not for the help of charities, hence the reason I like to give something back.

Basically, over the last couple of years, I, along with another volunteer, have raised over £120,000 for Hearing Dogs for Deaf People, the NDCS and now Against Breast Cancer, but it is getting to the stage where the database is growing and is getting unmanageable. I am manually doing a lot of work that I know a properly created database on Filemaker would so in a fraction of the time. As a result, I cannot physically put any more time into it and because of this fact, I cannot raise any more than approximately £50,000 per year.

While I've no doubt I can learn over time, what would help is if I had the aid of an expert who can help me to get things moving quicker by either helping and advising me, or helping to build it. While it is complex for me, I presume that for an expert it would not.

If you feel you can help, please do so. We will give you full recognition of the work you have done.

Many thanks,

Carl Morris

Hi Carl, and welcome to the Forum.

This is the BEST place for your post.

Do you have a wish list of what you want in the database? Take a look at FileMaker's site, they have some free solutions, in fact, have a look at this link, Link it is to a list of resources available for non-profit activities. If it were me, I would call them and discuss what I needed, and perhaps they have a finished solution that they would provide me.