Server Maintenance This Week. ×

This topic is 3524 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi all,

Hopefully I 've posted this in the right place :hmm:

I'm new to filemaker and have been developing a maintenance inventory database.

I have a 'stock transactions' portal where I can add and remove stock. I am having trouble figuring out how to put a condition on the amount in stock where there can't be a negative amount. So if there is a quantity of 2 items in stock, only 2 can be removed. (if someone trys to take 3 out of stock at the moment, the stock amount would go to -1 for example).

Thanks in advance for any help/advice on this issue, I'm still learning so any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Neil

Hi Neil, and welcome to the FM Forums,

I moved your topic from "FileMaker Pro 12" to "Calculation Engine (Define Fields)” because, the General Topics are reserved for the discussion of the new tools, functions and features that were introduced in that version of FileMaker and not for asking how-to questions.

Why not attach a copy of your file, or a mockup of it, so we see what you have now? To attach a file, just follow the steps you will find here ATTACH A FILE.

• Like 1

Hi Lee,

First of all thanks for replying I have been working on this project for a while and have started to 'hit brick walls' due to my lack of experience.

To give you an insight to my situation, re not allowing negative stock, I 've attached a copy of the file.

I'm developing a maintanence inventory database.

Thanks in advance for any advice you may have.

Neil

Hi Eos,

Thanks for replying  and attaching the file, had a look but not sure if it's what's wrong with my stock problem

MID Invent 200814.zip

Neil -

when you post a sample database, please help people helping you by making clear what exactly the problem is and in which context it can be seen.