Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Portal With GetSummary Sorting Problem

Poruchan

This topic is 3124 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi,

I was here a while back learning how to build a horse racing form. Thanks to those that helped, I've been producing a form for several months now. However, I never did figure out how to make the track averages and have FM calculate my speed figures. I'd like to give it another shot, as it will save me a tremendous amount of time. Right now I am doing all the dirty work in excel and importing the track averages and speed figures into FM -- so I'm using FM as a desktop layout program, which I suppose sounds crazy.

I can get FM to produce averages in a summary report, but I need separate summaries to get my speed ratings (I think).

I'll try and attach a photo of a mock-up layout that might be nice. A few things: There are ten tracks, and over 8oo possible race types i.e Tok_A1_12D (Tokyo, Allowance 1, 1200, Dirt). And I only indicate race types for races on dry tracks, so there is that attribute. Also all my records  are imported into a single table - so 150,000 race records so far. Anyway, I thought things like 'do I really need to make 800 separate summary calculations?' But, if that's the way it is, then fine.

And as before, I still do think I have some pretty basic conceptual misunderstandings about FM -- I appreciate all the help I can get -- even the slightest pushes in the right direction.

R Ave = Class Average (for race type)

W Ave = Win Average  (for race type)

Thanks,

Paul

mock-up.png

Edited by Poruchan
incomplete

even the slightest pushes in the right direction.

I am afraid that's the most I can do here, since I did not understand most of your description.