Launch script while a user is entering data?

This topic is 7610 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am relatively new to Filemaker so I'm hoping to get some advice from the experts.

I am working on a Filemaker system that creates records when items get moved from one location to another. There is no location data, just records that show what quantities have been moved. The system does child to parent lookups but not parent to child. In other words, you can easily see where something came from, but when you are looking at an old record you have no idea if the item you moved is still where you put it. That complicates any kind of Find where you want to know what is in a location.

The problem: We want a report on what is in one specific location.

My solution: Flag a record when something goes in. When it comes out look up the parent record and unflag it. Then you just have to search for the flags.

When a user is creating a new record I need to check a field for the specific location, go to the parent record, remove a flag variable, and return to the current record. I could do it with a button, but then I am relying on users to push the dumb button. If they don't (and I can't make them) things will get messed up in a hurry.

Is there any way to get a script started using field validation, tab stops to an invisible button, switching between fields, Apple Events, or something? I would run the check script every time the user pushed the tab key if necessary. I am currently using Filemaker 5.5, but I would happily run out and buy Filemaker Unlimited if it would help.

Thanks for caring enough to read this far. Sorry for the long post, but how can anyone help if they don't understand the problem?

KCG