FM Pro 8 On W2K3 Term Serv.

This topic is 6429 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I have no experience with File Maker Server or File Maker Pro so I am hoping someone can help me here?

All our File Maker work is done by a 3rd party interstate all I do is follow there instructions for installing their FM apps.

Anyway, here's the problem. We have replaced our Windows 2000 Terminal Server with a new 2003 Terminal Server. Users can connect to the FM app running on/under File Maker Server (on a different server to the Terinal Server, called Appsserver) but the resources used on the 2003 server is 3 times that used on the 2000 server.

All Filemaker components, File Maker Pro, Server, the RDP client software etc are the same versions on both servers.

For example, when someone starts Filemaker Pro and connects to the Filemaker app on Appsserver via the 2000 TS they are shown within task manager to be consuming approx. 20MB of memory. When they connect via the 2003 TS they are shown to be consuming approx. 65MB.

File Maker Pro version 8.0v3 on Windows 2003 Terminal Services.

File Maker Server version 8.0v2 on Windows 2003 Server.

I need to fix this ASAP. All help greatly appreciated.

siringo,

I'm not sure I understand your configuration. When everything is said-and-done you should have two (2) different servers:

1. An application server running Windows 2003 Server, Filemaker Pro 8.0x, and Terminal Services.

2. A database server running Windows 2003 Server, Filemaker Pro SERVER version 8.0x

One server hosts the Filemaker APPLICATION and the other hosts the DATABASE(s) right?

Clients connect via to the APPLICATION server via RDC (Remote Desktop Connection) correct? Clients never connect directly to the DATABASE server right? Lastly, you do not have Filemaker SERVER and Filemaker PRO (the application) installed on the same server right?