On-line registration for a community chorus?

TysonB

This topic is 6171 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

This MAY be too big of a question, but I'm looking for some direction or possibly some sample code... I've just taken over the manager position of our local community chorus, where the previous manager was doing paper-based registration then hand-entering it into a flat-file Access 97 db (shudder.....). There's GOT to be a better way.

I currently have access to FMP 8.5 Client/IWP, but may soon have access to an FMP 8 Server Advanced installation. I'm a "self-taught" FileMaker guy (okay, now, all the DBAs out there, your turn to shudder) and have a good handle on the basics and the relational bits. However, I have very little experience with user accounts and privilege sets, and NO experience with using them to create, say, an online registration tool for a community chorus. I'm sure there MUST be a commercial tool out there, but everybody knows what the word "community" stands for.... I have no financial resources.

What I would LIKE to do is to create a IWP-accessible registration page where people can a) create their own accounts (w. usernames and passwords, : edit their own account information and c) NOT be able to access anyone else's account information. Simple, no? I'm familiar with the issues around guest login/registered login with IWP, I can probably work around that one. I don't want to do any financial stuff like fee tracking or online payments right now, but might in the future (walk before I run, sort of thing).

I know, this is not a small question, but any help would be appreciated... Sample code (particularly around scripting the account creation process), or pointers to good tutorials, etc. Again, I've got more time than money....

Thanks in advance,

It sounds like once they get there, they are not going to be doing too much other than entering in name, address etc. It appears to be more a problem of getting them to