This topic is 2120 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi community, this is my very 1st post as I just registered and I am a newbie to FM, so please bear with me. I am creating an inventory database for a small bar. When for instance products like (1 litre wine bottles) comes into stock I enter the items into stock and it added the amount of bottles that was purchased fine. Now when it is time to sell wine to a customer for instance, it is sold as glasses of let's say (X) amount from a bottle, but not the whole bottle is used since it is divided into several glasses of wine that in total are equal to the 1 litre. How do I calculate the (X) amount that was sold from a bottle until it's equal to 1 litre,therefore the stock is now updated to 1 bottle out of stock, instead of showing that an entire bottle was moved out of stock. I hope I explained it right. If that topic was already discussed, please point me to it. Thank you and have a great week-end

Not sure what exactly your question is. Obviously, you need to know how much wine is served in a glass. If it's, say, 125 ml, then you can multiply the total number of glasses sold by 0.125 and get the total amount in litres.

If you want to know the number of whole bottles sold as glasses, use this formula =

Div ( glasses * glass capacity ; bottle capacity )

For example, 15 glasses of 125 ml (total of 1.875 l) sold out of bottles of 750 ml each is =

Div ( 15 * .125 ; .75 )

which will return 2 whole bottles.

Did you look at the Templates a.k.a. “Use a Starter Solution” files that came with the FileMaker Pro application?

Here is an article and file that I like.

Inventory Transactions by Todd Geist