Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Calculation Based on Today's Date

This topic is 3339 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm using the FM Starting Point database under FM 13 Advanced for Mac.

As a freelancer, I track my monthly earnings very closely to ensure that I meet a target income goal for the month. I've been using a very lightweight app called 'Savings Jar' that lets me set a monthly target, enter earnings daily, and then displays how much I need to save per day to stay on track for this goal.

It's working well, but is redundant and I can't do anything else with this data that I am tracking anyway in FM Starting Point.

In FM Starting Point, I create a 'project' that is the current earning month. I then link all my invoices for the month to that project and I am able to get a running tally of my income for that month. I added an extra field in the project invoices tab to calculate where I am to my goal in relation to the income earned.

What I'm missing is the the calculation based on today's date of how much I need to earn per day to stay on target.

So if it's February 24th, I have four days left to earn the balance of my monthly goal, ie. monthly goal balance/4. The next day, I need that calculation to automatically update to monthly goal balance/3, then monthly goal balance/2, and so on. Is there a way to do this in Filemaker? I'm a basic user, but am able to muddle my way around so if this is doable, I'd need at least a hint of how to go about it.

I'm attaching an image that will hopefully make my question clearer.

post-113060-0-04442100-1425081483_thumb.

Thank you,

Rae

How exactly do you associate your "project" record with a month? If you have a field (of type Date) that holds the date of the first day of the month, then you can calculate the number of remaining days as=

Let (
monthEnd = Date ( Month ( MonthStart ) + 1 ; 0 ; Year ( MonthStart ) )
;
Case (